Stansted Slog

So, it’s the morning of the half marathon, the Stansted Slog, and I start running in 3 hours. I loaded up on pasta last night and I’ve eaten my apple for breakfast. Nothing more to eat now until I finish. I just don’t run very well on full stomach at all.

I’m hoping for sub 2:30:00 given that the course is “undulating”, or massive hills that go on for miles and miles. To be honest I’m looking forward to the last 3.5 miles, which is downhill all the way, where I can bet a nice fast pace to finish off. Miles 4 to 5.5 is a long, steep climb. I’m not looking forward to that at all though the steep downhill for the next mile should allow me to recover before the water station and another climb.

I’m well rested. I did a slow 5k on Tuesday and tail ran for Parkrun yesterday (practically walking) so there’s little chance that I’ve overdone it. If anything I’m concerned that I haven’t put the miles in in the weeks before. I should have been doing a minimum of 30 miles a week and I’ve only managed about 25. After this half marathon I’ll increase my distance and try to do at least two sets of 10 miles each week rather than just the one.

Wish me luck.

About hoverfrog

Please! If I told you about me then you'd only be jealous. That would not do. It is better that you simply don't ask.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

